Spark Logic

Arduino IDE

gadget999 Fri Jun 05, 2015 10:11 pm

HI Guys

I have come here from the arduino forum – looking to get deeper into the Maple Mini

today i got my first boards in the post and have sucessfully programmed them using the Maple IDE

i followed the ibnstruction here — viewtopic.php?f=20&t=32

but the Arduino IDE does not want to play ball

this is thew error message i got below

————————————————————————————————————————————

Arduino: 1.6.4 (Windows 7), Board: “LeafLabs Maple Mini Rev 2 to Flash, Bootloader 2.0 (20k RAM,120k Flash)”

Sketch uses 12,564 bytes (10%) of program storage space. Maximum is 122,880 bytes.

Global variables use 3,104 bytes of dynamic memory.

java.lang.UnsupportedClassVersionError: CliTemplate/CliMain (Unsupported major.minor version 51.0)

at java.lang.ClassLoader.defineClass0(Native Method)

at java.lang.ClassLoader.defineClass(Unknown Source)

at java.security.SecureClassLoader.defineClass(Unknown Source)

at java.net.URLClassLoader.defineClass(Unknown Source)

at java.net.URLClassLoader.access$1(Unknown Source)

at java.net.URLClassLoader$1.run(Unknown Source)

at java.security.AccessController.doPrivileged(Native Method)

at java.net.URLClassLoader.findClass(Unknown Source)

at java.lang.ClassLoader.loadClass(Unknown Source)

at sun.misc.Launcher$AppClassLoader.loadClass(Unknown Source)

at java.lang.ClassLoader.loadClass(Unknown Source)

the selected serial port at java.lang.ClassLoader.loadClass(Unknown Source)

does not exist or your board is not connected

Exception in thread “main”

This report would have more information with
“Show verbose output during compilation”
enabled in File > Preferences.

—————————————————————————–

the boards i ordered look the same as this

http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/New-1pc-ARM-C … 46331b4798

Any suggestions ?

Replies

mrburnette Fri Jun 05, 2015 10:44 pm

Welcome gadget999:

Start here to verify you installed the core correctly in the \Arduino\hardware directory:
viewtopic.php?f=20&t=32

Your board is a Maple Mini clone from Baite. You must select the Maple Mini as your board type.

You must have 1st installed the Windows drivers.

You Must close All Arduino GUI sessions and then reopen for the STM32 supported boards to appear in the boards menu.

Ray

pico Sat Jun 06, 2015 2:28 am

In IDE 1.6.3 and 1.6.4

Sketch|Include library|Manage libraries…

is throwing up some odd complaints about the way stm32 is installed under hardware (it’s not finding boards.txt files where it expects them).

Also, it’s complaining it can’t find a build.board entry in the boards.txt files it does find.

I’m not sure what the build.board definition is used for. A new 1.6.x thing obviously.

For 1.6.x, it seems that the preferred directory tree under hardware/ includes the main subfolder (e.g. Arduino, Teensy, Arduino_STM32), followed by the architecture subfolder(s) (eg. AVR, ARM, STM32F1 etc.), and then boards.txt under each architecture sub-directory.

Anything else in the main subfolder that’s not an “architecture” subfolder seems to cause confusion for the poor IDE.

Not sure where the other stuff is supposed to go if you want to avoid the warning messages — somewhere under hardware/tools perhaps?

-Mark

Could not find boards.txt in C:\arduino\arduino-1.6.3\hardware\Arduino_STM32\drivers. Is it pre-1.5?
Could not find boards.txt in C:\arduino\arduino-1.6.3\hardware\Arduino_STM32\examples. Is it pre-1.5?
Could not find boards.txt in C:\arduino\arduino-1.6.3\hardware\Arduino_STM32\other. Is it pre-1.5?
Board Arduino_STM32-master:STM32F1:MapleMiniGeneric doesn't define a 'build.board' preference. Auto-set to: STM32F1_MAPLEMINIGENERIC
Board Arduino_STM32-master:STM32F1:maple doesn't define a 'build.board' preference. Auto-set to: STM32F1_MAPLE
Board Arduino_STM32-master:STM32F1:genericSTM32F103Rxx doesn't define a 'build.board' preference. Auto-set to: STM32F1_GENERICSTM32F103RXX
Board Arduino_STM32-master:STM32F1:maple_mini doesn't define a 'build.board' preference. Auto-set to: STM32F1_MAPLE_MINI
Board Arduino_STM32-master:STM32F1:genericSTM32 doesn't define a 'build.board' preference. Auto-set to: STM32F1_GENERICSTM32
Board Arduino_STM32-master:STM32F1:microduino32_flash doesn't define a 'build.board' preference. Auto-set to: STM32F1_MICRODUINO32_FLASH
Board Arduino_STM32-master:STM32F1:nucleo_f103rb doesn't define a 'build.board' preference. Auto-set to: STM32F1_NUCLEO_F103RB
Board Arduino_STM32-master:STM32F3:discovery_f3 doesn't define a 'build.board' preference. Auto-set to: STM32F3_DISCOVERY_F3
Board Arduino_STM32-master:STM32F4:discovery_f407 doesn't define a 'build.board' preference. Auto-set to: STM32F4_DISCOVERY_F407
Could not find boards.txt in C:\arduino\arduino-1.6.3\hardware\Arduino_STM32\tools. Is it pre-1.5?

mrburnette Sat Jun 06, 2015 3:11 am

Is it pre-1.5?
Could not find boards.txt in C:\arduino\arduino-1.6.3\hardware\Arduino_STM32\examples.

This is a very strange path. THe 3rd party cores sre installed in the USER directory… your documents directory. So,

<yourUserName>\Documents\Arduino\hardware\STM….

Your Arduino 1.6.x application files should be in C:\Program Files\Arduino6.n.n\

Ray

Rick Kimball Sat Jun 06, 2015 3:22 am

pico wrote:Could not find boards.txt in C:\arduino\arduino-1.6.3\hardware\Arduino_STM32\drivers. Is it pre-1.5?
Could not find boards.txt in C:\arduino\arduino-1.6.3\hardware\Arduino_STM32\examples. Is it pre-1.5?
Could not find boards.txt in C:\arduino\arduino-1.6.3\hardware\Arduino_STM32\other. Is it pre-1.5?
Could not find boards.txt in C:\arduino\arduino-1.6.3\hardware\Arduino_STM32\tools. Is it pre-1.5?

pico Sat Jun 06, 2015 4:21 am

mrburnette wrote: Is it pre-1.5?
Could not find boards.txt in C:\arduino\arduino-1.6.3\hardware\Arduino_STM32\examples.

This is a very strange path. THe 3rd party cores sre installed in the USER directory… your documents directory. So,

<yourUserName>\Documents\Arduino\hardware\STM….

Your Arduino 1.6.x application files should be in C:\Program Files\Arduino6.n.n\

Ray

pico Sat Jun 06, 2015 4:50 am

Rick Kimball wrote:In my personal setup, I moved everything around so that there are only architecture directories (STM32F1, STM32F2 .. ) at that level.

gadget999 Sat Jun 06, 2015 12:57 pm

I am running windows 7

Arduino IDE 1.6.4

the folder structure is

libaries\documents\Arduino\Hardware\Arduino_STM32-master

please can you confirm I have the folder above correct

i have followed everything in the instructions

—————————————————————————————————————————

p.s The board did not appear as COM5 until i programmed it using the Maple IDE

mrburnette Sat Jun 06, 2015 1:12 pm

gadget999 wrote:I am running windows 7

Arduino IDE 1.6.4
the folder structure is
libaries\documents\Arduino\Hardware\Arduino_STM32-master
please can you confirm I have the folder above correct

i have followed everything in the instructions
—————————————————————————————————————————

p.s The board did not appear as COM5 until i programmed it using the Maple IDE

Vassilis Sat Jun 06, 2015 1:45 pm

Install STM32Duino on Arduino IDE (1.6.x and later)

This is what I did to combine the Arduino IDE 1.6.3 with STM32duino (now I use 1.6.4):

1. Download the Arduino IDE 1.6.4 (just the zip file = ~143MB)
2. Extract it on your Hard drive (ex c:\arduino)
3. Download the STM32Duino.
4. Extract the master.zip file.
5. You will see a folder named Arduino_STM32-master. Rename it to Arduino_STM32
6. Copy that folder in to c:\arduino\hardware folder.
7. Run the arduino.exe from your c:\arduino folder (c:\arduino\arduino.exe)
8. Go to Tools -> Board -> Boards Manager and click on Arduino SAM Boards (32-bits ARM Cortex-M3)
9. Cick on Install.
10. Wait some time until the package is downloaded and installed.
11. Restart your arduino IDE.

I hope it will help

gadget999 Sat Jun 06, 2015 2:04 pm

ok i installed 1.7.4 from arduino.org

the Duo Board was already installed and i did not need to use the board manager

the zip was unpacked to

c:\Users\User1\MyDocuments\Arduino\Hardware\Arduino_STM32-master

(it appears to be the same directory as libaries\documents\Arduino\Hardware\Arduino_STM32-master)

still no change :(

—————————————

so the Maple IDE works but not the Arduino IDE

the selected Board is a Leaflabs Maple Mini Rev 2 to flash

i have tried both versions of the bootloader

the error messages are

Arduino: 1.7.4 (Windows 7), Board: “LeafLabs Maple Mini Rev 2 to Flash, Original (17k RAM,108k Flash)”

Sketch uses 12,100 bytes (10%) of program storage space. Maximum is 110,592 bytes.

Global variables use 3,104 bytes of dynamic memory.

java.lang.UnsupportedClassVersionError: CliTemplate/CliMain (Unsupported major.minor version 51.0)

at java.lang.ClassLoader.defineClass0(Native Method)

at java.lang.ClassLoader.defineClass(Unknown Source)

at java.security.SecureClassLoader.defineClass(Unknown Source)

at java.net.URLClassLoader.defineClass(Unknown Source)

at java.net.URLClassLoader.access$1(Unknown Source)

at java.net.URLClassLoader$1.run(Unknown Source)

at java.security.AccessController.doPrivileged(Native Method)

at java.net.URLClassLoader.findClass(Unknown Source)

at java.lang.ClassLoader.loadClass(Unknown Source)

at sun.misc.Launcher$AppClassLoader.loadClass(Unknown Source)

at java.lang.ClassLoader.loadClass(Unknown Source)

the selected serial port at java.lang.ClassLoader.loadClass(Unknown Source)

does not exist or your board is not connected

Exception in thread “main”

This report would have more information with
“Show verbose output during compilation”
enabled in File > Preferences.

gadget999 Sat Jun 06, 2015 2:20 pm

HI Vassilis

thanks for your suggestions

unfortunately the same problem

I will try installing in on a different computer (win 8 ) and see if i can move this forwards

thank you everyone for the suggestions – i am sure it will be something simple

gadget999 Sat Jun 06, 2015 9:37 pm

well that was interesting

i installed the STM32 onto my laptop (win 8) as per the instructions and it seems ot write to the board

however it seems to fail when it tries to write and the board is left unprogrammed

the error is :-

Build options changed, rebuilding all

Sketch uses 12,564 bytes (11%) of program storage space. Maximum is 110,592 bytes.
Global variables use 3,104 bytes of dynamic memory.
maple_loader v0.1
Resetting to bootloader via DTR pulse
Searching for DFU device [1EAF:0003]…
Found it!

Opening USB Device 0x1eaf:0x0003…
Found Runtime: [0x1eaf:0x0003] devnum=1, cfg=0, intf=0, alt=1, name=”DFU Program FLASH 0x08005000″
Setting Configuration 1…
Claiming USB DFU Interface…
Setting Alternate Setting …
Determining device status: state = dfuIDLE, status = 0
dfuIDLE, continuing
Transfer Size = 0x0400
bytes_per_hash=251
Starting download: [##################################################] finished!
error resetting after download: usb_reset: could not reset device, win error: The system cannot find the file specified.
state(8) = dfuMANIFEST-WAIT-RESET, status(0) = No error condition is present

Done!

Resetting USB to switch back to runtime mode

i am going to try upgrading the arduino version – currently 1.6.3

martinayotte Sat Jun 06, 2015 9:48 pm

It seems that your upload succeeded !
I think your should try to see if your sketch is running properly, even if you have this error “could not reset device, win error” …

gadget999 Sat Jun 06, 2015 10:13 pm

HI Guys

everything is working on my laptop :D :D :D :D :D

i was using the blink example and of course i was using the wrong pin ! 13 instead of 33 :P

i am very pleased i have got it working and wanted to thank you all for helping me get there

i have no idea why it wont’ work on my desktop pc

does anyone make shields for the maple mini ? its such a neat product i can see it challenging anything that arduino bring out with a arm processor

time to play :)

mrburnette Sun Jun 07, 2015 12:05 am

gadget999 wrote:
<…>
does anyone make shields for the maple mini ? its such a neat product i can see it challenging anything that arduino bring out with a arm processor time to play :)

gadget999 Sun Jun 07, 2015 9:51 am

Hi Ray thats another great little product !

i can’t believe that the original maple did not take off in a big way

what do you think is going to happen to Arduino ? the Duo is too expensive and they dont have a small board like the maple mini

the only advantage is shields you can buy off the shelf that are prebuilt and the olimex you showed me can work with them

mrburnette Sun Jun 07, 2015 2:31 pm

gadget999 wrote:
what do you think is going to happen to Arduino ? the Duo is too expensive and they dont have a small board like the maple mini … the only advantage is shields you can buy off the shelf that are prebuilt and the olimex you showed me can work with them

RogerClark Mon Jun 08, 2015 3:31 am

I’ve noticed that some more Maple boards have appeared on eBay including the iTeadMaple

http://www.ebay.com/itm/Leaf-Maple-Deve … 27fb78ee7c

I have one of these and its well made, but the processor is almost identical to the one in the Maple mini, so you’re paying over twice the price to get the pin headers etc.

The problem with shields, is likely to be that they are designed to run on 5V Uno’s and not 3.3V Maple boards, so its debatable how many of the shields would work.

I’ve never really used shields, as I’ve always found them quite limiting and you pay for the ease of use.

The best thing to do is buy separate modules e.g. SD and either use a solderless breadboard for testing, or wire things together using female to female connector wires

Image

gadget999 Wed Jun 10, 2015 1:32 pm

Nice looking Board

I cant see any reason why you would buy an AVR Uno over that one

linking boards and sensors together with patch cables is a neat solution

mrburnette Wed Jun 10, 2015 4:22 pm

gadget999 wrote:Nice looking Board

I cant see any reason why you would buy an AVR Uno over that one

linking boards and sensors together with patch cables is a neat solution

Sign in to reply